Kibworth & District Chronicle

Articles & Features

About the Chronicle

Advertisers Information

Contact Us


Couch to 5k parkrunners
Our ten week Couch to 5k program has now finished, and four of our runners went on to take part in a 5k Parkrun at Market Harborough. Louise Bissell, Mary Ann Curtis, Caroline Claffey and Toni Willcock all completed the run and did themselves and the Club proud!

Draycote Water 10k
Michelle Hodgson battled the wind and rain in the latest of the winter series. Returning from an enforced three week break, Michelle earned herself a new PB with a time of 1:02:41, earning her 88th position out of 148 female finishers.

LRRL Kibworth 6
There was a great turnout from Fleckney & Kibworth for our local league race, this year hosted and marshalled by the Roadhoggs AC. This is always a popular event, despite the hills, with steep ascents into Saddington and Gumley, with a final test up to Smeeton before the home stretch back to The Kibworth School. The strong winds had subsided but it was still blustery in places, otherwise the conditions were good for the event.

West End Runners took the overall honours, with Seb Hall claiming number 1 spot for the men in a time of 33:52, and Claire Fitzpatrick first lady home in a time of 38:31. For Fleckney & Kibworth there were a number of impressive first time performances as well as several PBs for those who have tackled the course before. Tom Bushell was first of 17 runners to complete the course in position 174 (44:03), then Sam Litchfield in 241 (46:23). Bernie Owen was first female for the club and 2nd in her category (46:45).

The men’s team also included Jim Hawley, Graham Pickering, Mike Turner, Vince Brown, Alan Gibson (pb), Andy Findlay, Matt Rix, Kirit Patel (pb) and Andy Kemp (pb). The Ladies team was made up by Lisa Stone, Anna-Maria Walsh, Sarah Barbour (pb), Jo Raine and Tor Hawley.

LRRL Race 3 - Desford 5
Desford Striders hosted the third event of the Spring League, with several F&K runners’ debuts for the Club, and a couple of personal bests achieved.
Alex Smyth was first home for the Men’s Team, with a time of 36:04 and position 191, followed by Jim Hawley 232 (37:16), Mike Turner 291 (39:06), Andy Kemp with a PB of 43:18 (411) and Dan Pedley in a time of (50:19).
For the Ladies, Joanne Raine was first home in a time of 49:53 (498), with Tor Hawley just behind at 503 (50:13), club debutants Holly Bremner (52:09), Natalie Gray (52:23) and Liz Olner (53:19).

Manchester Marathon
Kirit Patel posted a new Marathon PB in the Manchester Marathon with a time of 4hrs 30mins 51secs. This knocked a huge 19 minutes off his previous best at Berlin last year. Kirit finished in position 9,127 in a field of almost 14,000.

Alan Gibson
Issue 411
April 2019

Home  | Articles & Features | Advertisers Information About the Chronicle  |  Contact Us

International Standard Serial Number 1477 9188

Website Designed & maintained by  Jan Heaney 2010-2019

 facebook twitter